How do I Save a Game I Edited as my Own?

From The Endless Mission Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
There are a few rules about how you're allowed to Save the Games you modify in the Editor, and they all have to do with who is considered to be the author of the Game you're working with.

Here are a few important things to know:

  • You can only perform a normal "Save" (that is, save and overwrite the current Game without changing its file name or making any new files) if you are considered to be the "author" of the Game.
  • There are only two ways you can become the "author" of a Game:
    • Enter the Editor from the Title Screen, thereby starting with an 'empty' Game that you build from scratch.
    • Open an existing Game that is authored by someone else, and then select "Save As" to save it as a new file. When you perform Save As, you become the new author of the Game since you made changes to it.
  • In fact, if you open an existing Game authored by someone else, you are not even allowed to make changes to it using the normal Save command.
Editor - Save As.png
When you are working with a Game that's authored by someone else, you'll notice that the "Save" button at the top of the screen is dimmed and won't work.

You can't "Save" normally any Games that were authored by someone else.

In this case, your only option if you would like to save your changes is to perform a "Save As", which will force you to create a new Game file with a new name.

To do this, just press the drop-down arrow symbol next to the "Save" button, and you'll be able to "Save As".

You'll see a dialog box appear where you can enter a new name for your edited Game.

Once you Save this way, you will become the author of the newly named Game, and you will be able to Save your further edits normally.